Here Goes…

So, if anyone had walked up to me 6 months ago and said “you’re about to get your dream job & you’ll see the world doing it”, I would have laughed at them right in their face and told them where to get off.

You see, six months ago, I was aimlessly wandering around Turkey with a lethal raki cocktail  in one hand, trying to hold onto my dignity in the other whilst trying to hide all emotions possible, all with 2 of my closest friends. Because in all honesty, my life was heading no where. I had just turned 22, seen all my friends graduate, buy houses, settle down and get engaged. Then there was me. Still working in the same dead end job I had when I turned 15. Already having turned down a job in Majorca with Thomas Cook when I was 19, I knew something had to change. But it took a week of talking to people I hadn’t met before, and quite frankly, was never going to keep in touch with, to talk me into one thing. Getting out of a dead end town.

As soon as I headed back home, I was on another plane. This time to Spain to once again clear my head & to not make any rational decisions. But after another week of fun in the sun, I realised I wanted my next summer to be spent abroad doing something I loved, getting paid for it and seeing whatever I could before my bank had a meltdown.

Which brings me back to today. I have 14 working weeks left in the UK. Thats 70 days. 70 days until I fly out to Washington DC and attempt to start something new. Something which I should’ve done when I was 18 years old and when it was quite literally, handed to me on a plate. But being young and in ‘love’ apparently changes your mindset quite drastically.

So in 70 days time I need to be ready. Mentally, and physically. Of course there are obstacles in the way. Passing my first aid course is one, along with learning how to lifeguard is most certainly another. But i’m sure with a fresh determined outlook, I can make this happen. In fact, I will make this happen. Already sacrificing social time with my oldest friends, to swim laps of the pool until I can’t stand, and trying to live off £20 a week – probably the hardest thing  I’ve ever done in my life – it will all be worth it. But if it wasn’t for the most amazing, understanding friends you could ever ask for that realise what you want to do in life, I probably would have never logged on & filled out an application form. And who knows, after all this, I will have had the summer of my life, worked harder than I’ve ever worked & met some amazing people.

2 thoughts on “Here Goes…

  1. Seem like 5 minutes ago I was saying to everyone only 70 shifts left! And now ive been here 6 months and just found out i wont be going home…Your gonna have such a fab time, and when you swing by Australia you will have to give me a shout 🙂 Miss you all 🙂 xxx

Leave a Reply

