The World As a Village

sloganOk, so the other night at guides we studied World Thinking Day. I’m going to take a stab in the dark and say not many of you know what that is unless you were a rainbow, brownie, guide, scout etc. (click the link and educate yourself) But the one thing we discussed was, ‘the world as a village’, which was surprisingly really interesting. I’m not sure if the kids found it as insightful as I did, but I thought I would share it with you.

There are 7 billion of us on earth, but what would happen if we were just a village of 100 people? Well;

  • 50 would be men, 50 would be women
  • There would be 61 asians, 12 europeans, 8 americans, 5 caribbeans, 13 africans and 1 from the oceania continent.
  • 56 would be non christian, 33 christian and 11 non religious.
  • 20 people would own 75% of the entire worlds income.
  • 5  Americans would own 32% of the worlds income.
  • 21 people would live on $1.25 per day.
  • 12 are disabled, 12 can’t read or write, 14 are starving and 1 would be suffering from HIV.

The idea of educating children with this information, is to show how we are all equal. We all live on the same earth and even though we are different, we should all appreciate what we have, and how we should do our best to improve our world.

There are many ways you can make a difference, donate to charity, volunteer your spare time or donate to the Miniature Earth Project.

I hope this post makes you have a little think, and if it doesn’t, I’m sorry for getting all deep with you!

 

I know I’ve been lacking in the blog department recently, but I’ve been so busy with everything to get me going for this summer. I still have 101 things left to do. Mainly my visa paperwork. Organisation really used to be my thing. What has happened to me!?

One thought on “The World As a Village

  1. Pingback: Spreading the Blog Love | A Year Abroad

Leave a Reply

